Skip to content

Attack of the Chinese/Taiwanese Boy Bands

August 7, 2009

I’ve heard of groups like Fahrenheit and Lollipop, but I’ve never known much else about the current Mandarin boy band scene. I looked into it today and found out there’s been an explosion of boy bands in China within the past year! Obviously, I’m not very up to date with Chinese music.

So these are my initial reactions to some of China and Taiwan’s newest and hottest boy bands (keep in mind, I’ve only known about these guys are about a day). Sorry there are a lot of comparisons to Korean groups, but I’ve never been into boy bands (or pop music at all really) until I found kpop–so basically they’re the only benchmark I have.

1. Hit-5

I love how all the members of Hit-5 idolize DBSK and Taeyang (oh, one really likes Hangeng too). From the performances and TV appearances I’ve seen, they seem like a talented group of guys, albeit in metallic silver or blue clothing. I’m not crazy about their boy band outfits that clearly belong in the early 2000s, but at least they’re matching and aren’t horribly offensive (unlike some boy bands out there, you know who you are).

“Hit” — it’s kind of like “Dirty Pop” in the beginning, no? I think it’s their weakest song, though :(

“Say You Love Me Again” — this one I know will get stuck in my head, but I like it.

“I Want You To Know” — this is a nice one too.

2. Choc 7

I’m a little confused by Choc 7….so, they’re a 7-member group that sings and dances, but they also play instruments? They are literally a boy band? I was really confused when watching the music video for “Tai Qing Chun” when all of a sudden they busted out instruments. I read on a forum that they were told they all had to learn an instrument in order for them to debut…but in their live performances I’ve seen they only sing and dance. So what’s the point? All in all, they remind me a little of SHINee. I guess it’s the wholesomeness and bright colored clothing. Oh wait, SHINee isn’t wholesome anymore. My bad.

“Tai Qing Chun”

This song (“What Are You Waiting For?”) is better in my opinion.

Also, this guy (Mao Di) is totally the Taiwanese Taemin.

Image

3. Top Combine

Top Combine is the only group I’ve seen with Chinese and Korean members (but then again, I don’t know that many) — i.e., everyone is Chinese except for one Korean guy. Oh right, Super Junior M!!! Okay, they are one of the few groups with Chinese and Korean members. I feel like Top Combine is a DBSK/Super Junior fusion, just prettier and more mextrosexual. On one hand, they seem dark and badass, and on the other hand, they also seem sweet and happy. All while looking extremely pretty.

“Arrival” — the DBSK side of Top Combine

“Cotton Candy” — the Suju side of Top Combine

See?

4. A-One

From what I’ve seen, A-One seems like the most intense (or maybe mature is the word I’m looking for), DBSK-like group. I mean, look. Not your typical boy band shot.

Then again, I’ve also seen pictures of them like this, so I dunno.

I found one of their mvs on a Chinese site (for some reason I can’t find it on YT), but because it’s in Chinese I don’t know how to embed it. So if you want to see it, go here. It’s okay really, but I like their song”Niu Lang Zhi Nu” a lot.

My overall take on these groups? Unfortunately, I think they’re generic and underdeveloped. I have a little trouble differentiating between them too….not that they’re all exactly the same, but their look and music is really similar in some respects. It’s kind of like the flood of girl groups in the Korean music scene right now (sorry to bring Korea back into this). Right now, there is no Mandarin boy group that stands out to me as much as, say, 2NE1 does amongst the Korean girl groups. To me, a lot of the other girl groups are generic and very similar to one another, like these guys.

Having said all that, these guys are newbies so they have time to grow and develop. And I do like their music (I know I’ll be listening to some of these songs a lot)…I just think that they can be a bit stronger. And maybe I’m being more critical because China is (one of) my motherland(s) and I want to show off its music.

All in all, I’m looking forward to see what these guys come out with :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nishiio permalink
    August 21, 2009 1:14 AM

    Ooooh~! Thanks for posting these!
    Haha, I’ve been wondering if mainland had ANY bands, since the Mandopop scene seems to be dominated by Taiwanese artists mainly.

    They DO look like they’re trying to be like Korean boybands but hey, they just debuted. =) I can’t wait to see what these guys can do.

    Don’t disappoint!

    • junglexchild permalink
      August 21, 2009 3:41 AM

      No problem! I hear you, Taiwanese artists do seem to dominate mandopop. With the exception of Choc 7, all these guys are from the mainland. I like a lot of Taiwanese artists but it’s definitely cool to see groups from China.

      After writing this post I have to admit I’ve grown to like HIT-5 a lot. And I’ll be keeping up with the others to see what they do too :)

  2. September 29, 2009 2:41 AM

    choc 7~~
    they are new boyband and their are junior of Lollipop~
    they aren’t play instrument~it just 4 that MV”Tai Qing Chun”~

  3. February 11, 2010 3:02 AM

    i definitely enjoy all your writing kind, very attractive,
    don’t give up as well as keep creating considering it simply that is worth to follow it,
    impatient to view way more of your articles, enjoy your day :)

  4. Ling permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:24 PM

    It’s OK to be similar to boybands in Korea, as long as they’re similar to the TALENTED ones, like DBSK and Big Bang. All of these are pretty “meh” to be honest, and that’s not just cuz they’re Chinese but because, like loads of Korean boybands, they’re generic.

  5. Secluded permalink
    July 25, 2010 4:57 AM

    Question: how is SHINee unwholesome? And while you’re at it, could you tell more about this new guy, mao di?

Leave a Reply

